Demo: Florence Price: Symphony No. 3 in c minor

January 30, 2024

Florence Price's Symphony No. 3 was commissioned by the Works Progress Administration's Federal Music Project during the height of the Great Depression. It was first performed at the Detroit Institute of Arts on November 6, 1940, by the Detroit Civic Orchestra under the conductor Valter Poole.

The composition is Price's third symphony, following her Symphony in E minor—the first symphony by a black woman to be performed by a major American orchestra—and her lost Symphony No. 2.

1111 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN 55403
United States

More information

View full calendar


4611 Peoria Street Unit B
Denver, CO 80239
Sunday 12:00 P.M. - 1:00 A.M.
Monday off
Tuesday 12:00 P.M. - 11:00 P.M.
Wednesday 12:00 P.M. - 11:00 P.M.
Thursday 12:00 P.M. - 1:00 A.M.
Friday & Saturday 12:00 P.M. - 2:00 A.M.
Tequila Blues Logo
Copyright 2024© Designed and Developed by Nerd Stack
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram